2014–2015 Calendar of Events

What’s happening at Circus Center in 2014–2015? A lot! You may have already read about our addition of a session-option for class enrollment starting in the fall. But what else? Read on… Workshop Weeks In order to give students opportunities to work with new teachers and try new things, we will offer two Workshop Weeks in 2014–15:

  • January 5 – 11, 2015
  • June 1 – 7, 2015

Productions We will continue to increase the number and quality of performance opportunities for our students next year.

  • “Give Kids a Flying Chance”: this flying trapeze show is a benefit fundraiser for the Tamarindo community in El Salvador.
    • Tech: Saturday, November 15, 1:00 pm
    • Show: Sunday, November 16, 6:00 pm
  • Winter Showcase: an annual tradition, this all-school showcase will feature group acts from participants in our youth program, solo and small group acts by adult students, and probably a few clowns from the Clown Conservatory!
    • Tech: Saturday, December 6, 1:00 pm
    • Youth Tech: Sunday, December 7, 1:00 pm
    • Dress: Saturday, December 13, 1:00 pm
    • Shows: Saturday, December 13, 7:30 pm & Sunday, December 14, 3:00 pm (all performers strike immediately following Sunday show)
  • Youth Circus Show: the Youth Circus will build on the success of this spring’s “Secret Life of Polytechnic” with a new show, directed by youth program co-director Felicity Hesed.
    • Tech: Sunday, May 3, 1:00 pm & Friday, May 8, 4:00 pm
    • Dress: Saturday, May 9, 1:00 pm
    • Shows: Saturday, May 9, 7:30 pm & Sunday, May 10, 3:00 pm (all performers strike immediately following Sunday show)
  • Rising Stars Recital: Thursday, May 21, 5:00 pm
  • Spring Show: Circus Center will produce a show in the main gym in the spring, focused on our adult students and faculty, produced at a similar (or higher) level as Cabaret Metamorphoses. The show could be a “pure” circus show (traditional, nouveau, whatever), a circus-theater hybrid, or something else. We will take proposals from potential directors in the fall, and a committee of students, instructors, and Barry will select the director.
    • Director Proposals Due: October 15, 2014
    • Auditions: January 24, 2015
    • Tech: Saturday, May 23, 1:00 pm
    • Dress: Tuesday, May 26, 6:30 pm
    • Shows: Wednesday – Saturday, May 27 – 30, 7:30 pm
    • Strike: Sunday, May 31 (all performers participate)

Works-in-Progress Showings These went away over the summer, but they will return in the fall, providing students with opportunities to show work in development and get feedback from faculty and fellow students.

  • Saturday, October 11, 2014, 5:00 pm
  • Saturday, November 8, 2014, 5:00 pm
  • Saturday, January 10, 2015, 5:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 7, 2015, 5:00 pm
  • Saturday, March 14, 2015, 5:00 pm
  • Saturday, April 11, 2015, 5:00 pm

Clown Conservatory They’re back! Clown Conservatory will run three 5-week intensives this year, with a show in the Theater at the conclusion of each. Dates:

  • Intensive 1: November 2 – December 7 (Show December 4 – 7)
  • Intensive 2: January 12 – February 15 (Show February 12 – 15)
  • Intensive 3: February 23 – March 29 (Show March 26 – 29)

Camp Circus Center will offer a week of camp during SFUSD spring break and all summer long!

  • Spring Camp: March 30 – April 3, 2015
  • Summer Camp: June 8 – August 21, 2015

Still More… As you can see, we have a lot going on! Still, some things will get added to the schedule during the year. We hope to have one Resident Artist/Company per quarter, each of whom would offer a free community performance as part of their residency here. There’s talk of a recurring cabaret happening in the Theater starting in early 2015. And there may be other ideas that will emerge, so stay tuned! With the participation of the full community, 2014–2015 will be a great year for Circus Center.

Comments