Straps Conditioning


This class is taught by:

Jennings McCown

Jennings was introduced to circus while attending Illinois State University, which had a small campus circus troupe. He caught the “circus bug” and, upon graduation, spent the next three years traveling and performing with various small circuses throughout the US. He had a two-year career at Club Med, teaching circus skills and flying trapeze. Jennings joined the staff of Circus Center in 1999. He teaches flying trapeze and trampoline, serves as the company's master rigger, and performs with Xiao Hong Weng a spectacular hand-to-hand balancing act that has won over audiences throughout the Bay Area.

Veronica Blair

An aerialist of elegance and true excellence, Veronica Blair has studied with some of the most celebrated and prominent artists in her field, including trapeze great LaNorma Fox; Pamela Hernandez, who bears the distinction of being the very first African-American aerialist to perform with Ringling Brothers Barnum and Bailey Circus; and the renowned “God Father of the Tissu” Gerard Fasoli, director of Ecole Supérieure des Arts du Cirque, in Belgium.Veronica started her acrobatic career at the age of 14 with Make*A*Circus, a community-based circus. In addition she trained in Chinese Acrobatics at the San Francisco School of Circus Arts (now known as Circus Center). Her first professional performance was at the age of 17, making her one of the youngest professional African-American trapeze artists in the U.S. Shortly after, Veronica was personally selected by Cedric Walker, the founder of the UniverSoul Circus, as a single trapeze artist. Under Mr. Walker’s supervision, Veronica rapidly developed as an aerialist, and was the show's resident aerialist for 5+ years. After her residency with UniverSoul, Veronica performed with world-renowned performance groups in various productions around the world, including AntiGravity, Universal Studios Japan, and AFRIKA! AFRIKA! the most successful circus show in Germany.

This class is designed to develop strength and power utilizing fundamental positions and movements of aerial straps technique. Students will learn straps basic techniques while getting an excellent full-body workout at the same time.

Recommended complementary classes: Aerial Conditioning and Stretching classes.
 
 Prerequisite: Instructor Approval
 
 
 

Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Jun 29 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Celine Masson
  • Mon Jul 03 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Jul 06 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Celine Masson
  • Mon Jul 10 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Thu Jul 13 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Mon Jul 17 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Thu Jul 20 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Mon Jul 24 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Thu Jul 27 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Mon Jul 31 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Thu Aug 03 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Mon Aug 07 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Thu Aug 10 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Mon Aug 14 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Thu Aug 17 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Mon Aug 21 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Thu Aug 24 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Mon Aug 28 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm with Veronica Blair
  • Thu Aug 31 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Veronica Blair