Intro to Contortion


This class is taught by:

Catie Brier

Catie has been a resident of San Francisco for over 8 years. She began her training at Dance and Circus Arts of Tampa Bay over 13 years ago, where she studied dance and contortion. During her time there she trained under choreographer Debra Brown and contortionist Laurence Racine. Upon moving to San Francisco she started training with Master Lu Yi at Circus Center. She went on to train with Mongolian contortionist Serchmaa Byamba and began performing all around the United States. She's been seen performing with companies such as Quixotic Fusion, Circus Bella, Trapeze World and New Pickle Circus. Throughout her career Catie has developed a passion for not only teaching the art of contortion but also inspiring people to push the limits of their bodies.

Intro to Contortion uses Mongolian-based contortion technique to enhance leg and back flexibility and strength. Throughout this 2 hour class, students will work on improving their passive and active leg flexibility, as well as starting work on basic contortion skills such as chest stand, forearm stand and hand stands. Participants will also learn and develop personalized routines for stretching their legs and back that they can work on outside of class. Prerequisite: Instructor Approval

 


Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Jun 29 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Micah Walters
  • Thu Jul 06 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Micah Walters
  • Tue Jul 11 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Class Full
    Thu Jul 13 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Jul 18 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Thu Jul 20 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Jul 25 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Thu Jul 27 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Aug 01 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Thu Aug 03 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Aug 08 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Thu Aug 10 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Aug 15 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Thu Aug 17 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Thu Aug 24 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Micah Walters
  • Thu Aug 31 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm with Micah Walters