Flying Trapeze 1


This class is taught by:

Jennings McCown

Jennings was introduced to circus while attending Illinois State University, which had a small campus circus troupe. He caught the “circus bug” and, upon graduation, spent the next three years traveling and performing with various small circuses throughout the US. He had a two-year career at Club Med, teaching circus skills and flying trapeze. Jennings joined the staff of Circus Center in 1999. He teaches flying trapeze and trampoline, serves as the company's master rigger, and performs with Xiao Hong Weng a spectacular hand-to-hand balancing act that has won over audiences throughout the Bay Area.

Herdlyn Evans

Herdlyn serves as Co-Director of Circus Center's Flying Trapeze department. He began circus training in Jamaica when he was invited to try flying trapeze. For the past 8 years he has trained and performed flying trapeze, as both a flyer and catcher; static trapeze; double trapeze; tissu; and juggling. Herdlyn has taught and performed for various companies including Super Clubs and Club Med, where he was the circus director for Club Med Cancun.

Flying Trapeze 1 is for the intermediate student. Students should have experience with Flying Trapeze at Circus Center, but may not be ready to leave the board unassisted as in Flying Trapeze 2. Class has 3 instructors and 8 students like All Levels Flying Trapeze, but without total beginners, it is more fast-paced.

 

Prerequisite: Able to do a one-handed take off (or deemed close to that milestone by an instructor)




Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Aug 24 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Aug 31 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Herdlyn Evans
  • Thu Sep 07 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Sep 14 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Sep 21 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Sep 28 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Oct 05 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Oct 12 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Oct 19 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Oct 26 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Nov 02 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Nov 09 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Nov 16 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Nov 30 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Dec 07 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Dec 14 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown
  • Thu Dec 21 7:45 pm - 9:15 pm with Jennings McCown