Contortion 1


This class is taught by:

Catie Brier

Catie has been a resident of San Francisco for over 8 years. She began her training at Dance and Circus Arts of Tampa Bay over 13 years ago, where she studied dance and contortion. During her time there she trained under choreographer Debra Brown and contortionist Laurence Racine. Upon moving to San Francisco she started training with Master Lu Yi at Circus Center. She went on to train with Mongolian contortionist Serchmaa Byamba and began performing all around the United States. She's been seen performing with companies such as Quixotic Fusion, Circus Bella, Trapeze World and New Pickle Circus. Throughout her career Catie has developed a passion for not only teaching the art of contortion but also inspiring people to push the limits of their bodies.

Contortion 1 uses Mongolian-based contortion technique to enhance leg and back flexibility and strength. Throughout this 2 hour class, students will work on improving their passive and active leg flexibility, as well as starting work on basic contortion skills such as chest stand and elbow stand. Participants will also learn and develop personalized routines for stretching their legs and back that they can work on outside of class.

 

Prerequisite: Instructor approval

 

 


Upcoming classes:

  • Fri Sep 08 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Mon Sep 11 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Fri Sep 15 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Mon Sep 18 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Fri Sep 22 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Mon Sep 25 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Fri Sep 29 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Mon Oct 02 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Fri Oct 06 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Mon Oct 09 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Fri Oct 13 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Mon Oct 16 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Fri Oct 20 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Mon Oct 23 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Fri Oct 27 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Mon Oct 30 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Fri Nov 03 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Mon Nov 06 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Fri Nov 10 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier
  • Mon Nov 13 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm with Catie Brier