Intro to Acrobatics


This class is taught by:

Xiaohong Weng

Xiaohong Weng started training in gymnastics at the age of 7, before he joined the famed Nanjing Acrobatics Troupe. He had 4 years of professional training in gymnastics and was a high level competitive gymnast in China. He joined the circus and learned many traditional Chinese acrobatics acts, such as Chinese Pole, Chair-balancing, Hoop Diving, Chinese Lion Dance, and Partner Hand-balancing. As a skilled tumbler and hand-balancer, Xiaohong has performed extensively in China, the USA, and internationally. For the last decade he has been a senior instructor at Circus Center. He currently performs with Jennings McCown in an elegant double hand-to-hand acrobatics act.

Learn the foundations of the ancient Chinese acrobatic tradition. These techniques are the building blocks for all circus arts. Focus is on integration, flexibility, alignment, strength, and control, with intensive work on kicks, stretching, handstands, and tumbling.

 

No Prerequisites.

 
 

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed May 31 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Sat Jun 03 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Mon Jun 05 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Wed Jun 07 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Sat Jun 10 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Mon Jun 12 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Wed Jun 14 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Sat Jun 17 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Mon Jun 19 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Wed Jun 21 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Sat Jun 24 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Mon Jun 26 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Wed Jun 28 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Sat Jul 01 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Mon Jul 03 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Wed Jul 05 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Sat Jul 08 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Mon Jul 10 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Wed Jul 12 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng