Intro to Acrobatics


This class is taught by:

Xiaohong Weng

Xiaohong Weng started training in gymnastics at the age of 7, before he joined the famed Nanjing Acrobatics Troupe. He had 4 years of professional training in gymnastics and was a high level competitive gymnast in China. He joined the circus and learned many traditional Chinese acrobatics acts, such as Chinese Pole, Chair-balancing, Hoop Diving, Chinese Lion Dance, and Partner Hand-balancing. As a skilled tumbler and hand-balancer, Xiaohong has performed extensively in China, the USA, and internationally. For the last decade he has been a senior instructor at Circus Center. He currently performs with Jennings McCown in an elegant double hand-to-hand acrobatics act.

Lin Junming

Lin started in the acrobatic arts when he was 8 years old in Fujian Acrobatics Troupe in China. With the troupe, he performed in circuses all over the world; Europe, the Middle East, Mediterranean region, Africa and Asia. In the past 20 years, he learned many traditional Chinese acrobatic arts, such as Chinese Pole, chair-balancing, hoop diving, Chinese Lion Dance, partner hand-balancing, hand-juggling, foot-juggling and Ultimate Wheel. His juggling performance was awarded a prize for Silver Lion at the fourth China National Acrobatic Competition in 1995. He also holds the former world record for juggling 12 rings.

Learn the foundations of the ancient Chinese acrobatic tradition. These techniques are the building blocks for all circus arts. Focus is on integration, flexibility, alignment, strength, and control, with intensive work on kicks, stretching, handstands, and tumbling.

 

No Prerequisites.

 
 

Upcoming classes:

  • Mon Nov 20 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Wed Nov 22 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Sat Nov 25 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Sun Nov 26 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Lin Junming
  • Sat Dec 02 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Sun Dec 03 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Lin Junming
  • Mon Dec 04 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Wed Dec 06 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Thu Dec 07 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Lin Junming
  • Mon Dec 11 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Wed Dec 13 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Thu Dec 14 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Lin Junming
  • Sat Dec 16 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm with Xiaohong Weng
  • Sun Dec 17 10:30 am - 12:00 pm with Lin Junming